Blackstone Award and Nominations

10:1 Blackstone’s Order

Summary: We are told that at the Alamo a young Lieutenant Colonel by the name of William Barrett Travis Legend gazed out across the Texas prairie at Santa Anna's gathering forces, and drew a line in the sand. Then, he asked all those who would stand with him to cross the line. "Talking about Freedom," Travis had told them, "is always easier than coming face-to face with a man who is trying to take it away."

Every day public defenders and criminal defense lawyers in private practice we come face-to-face with such men and women. They struggle to exonerate their clients in difficult cases against an oppressive and unbalanced criminal justice system. Moreover, often when they win a pivotal pre-trial motion, an acquittal at trial or a reversal on appeal, there is usually no one there to recognize their efforts. Nevertheless, we must recognize them.  These are the true Freedom Fighters in the never-ending battle to preserve the idea which is the American experiment.

These are the lawyers who remind judges and juries of the collateral damage that occurs to our society if we wage the war on crime with complete disregard rights of individual liberty that so many have fought and died to preserve. These are the lawyers who implement Blackstone's ratio in the courtroom. These are the lawyers who remind judges, jurors and even skeptical prosecutors that it is "Better that 10 guilty persons escape than that one innocent suffer." The vigilance of these lawyers is the price of our liberty.

Past Recipients:
E. King Alexander Niles Haymer
David Anderson Holli Herrle-Castillo
Wesley Bailey Marcus Hunter
Mary Katherine Beaird Charles Kincade
Andre Belanger Tedrick Knightshead
Juan Bernal Jessica Lacambra
William Boggs Ryan LaPorte
Jim Boren Kara Larson
Franz Borghardt N'Ghana Lewis Gauf
Graham Bosworth Guy Lillian, III
Eugene Bouquet Robert Loque
Beau Brock Barry Milligan
Danielle Brown Marquita Naquin
Brett Brunson Donna Orjuela
Wilford Carter Ross Owen
Andy Casanave Letita Parker-Davis
Sean Collins Joe Perez
Howard Conday Bryan Racer
Tommy Damico Elton Richey
Harry Daniels, III James Ross
Tommy Davenport Carolyn Sartin
John DiGiulio Louis Scott
Laurie Earl Pam Spees
Davidson Ehle Catherine Stagg
Jim Flammang Ricky Swift
Thomas Frampton Robert Toale
Trey Frazier Jacques Touzet
Anna Friedberg A. Hays Town, III
Thomas Gernhauser Nicholas Trenticosta
Robby Gill Cesar Vazquez
Shelley Goff Arvind Viswanathan
Alan Golden Derrick Whittington
Joshua Gordon Katherine Widhalm Cooper
Broocks Greer David Williams
Chris Hatch